Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 · 2016 MSO Annual Session Highlights

November 4 - 5 • Swissotel • Chicago, Illinois

- 1) Over 550 doctors, staff, exhibitors, family and friends attending the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) 2016 Annual Session experienced a unique meeting memory with the opportunity to join in the excitement with over 5 million attending the Cubs World Series parade and celebration during the meeting in downtown Chicago. The exhibit hall, which was sold-out with a wait list with 54 companies displaying in 57 booths or table tops, was a busy hub of meeting activity.
- 2) The 2016 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented to MSO past president Dr. Jacqueline M. Miller. In addition to practicing in Washington, Missouri, she is a clinical instructor at St. Louis University Center for Advanced Dental Education, Division of Orthodontics. She was recently recognized for her more than 20 years of humanitarian and volunteer work by receiving the AAO Humanitarian Award at the 2016 AAO Annual Session.
- 3) The following new officers were installed to serve the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) members in 2016 2017: Drs. Virginia Mennemeyer of Troy, Missouri as president; Ryan VanLaecken of Watertown, South Dakota as president-elect and Kevin Denis of Mahtomedi, Minnesota as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Brent Larson of Minneapolis, Minnesota continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists Board until May 2017. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois was elected as the incoming AAO Trustee nominee. Refer to www.msortho.org for a complete list of MSO leaders.
- 4) These MSO Delegation members were elected to serve at the AAO 2017 House of Delegates: Drs. Spencer Pope Chair, Ali Fallgatter Vice-Chair, Ara Goshgarian, Mark Dake, Dennis Sommers, Ginny Mennemeyer and Deborah Lien. Alternates are Drs. Ross Crist, Daniel Keith, Jim Klarsch and Kim Stafford.
- 5) A MSO service appreciation plaque was sent to Dr. John Foley for his service as the MSO representative on the AAO Council on New and Younger Members (CONYM) prior to his transfer from Illinois to the Southern Association of Orthodontists. A special thanks to Dr. Daniel Keith of North Dakota for stepping in to become a leader representing MSO on this Council.
- 6) MSO members approved the 2017 MSO Budget and amending the bylaws to increase membership dues to \$195 in 2017. MSO was honored to have AAO President Dr. **DeWayne McCamish** welcome members at the MSO Member Business Meeting November 5
- 7) AAO has invited these members who applied in the MSO region to attend this leadership development event held in conjunction with the 2017 Winter Conference in Florida: Drs. Eric Orbison (Mayo resident), Emily Willett (UNMC resident), Soumya Padala (Illinois), Veerasathpurush Allareddy (Iowa), Clarke Stevens (Nebraska) and Eric Barnes (Illinois).
- 8) There are nearly 150 followers on the MSO Facebook page. If you are not one of them, please "like" the Midwestern Society page to keep up with the latest professional news and activities of your colleagues. MSO member accomplishments and photos may be emailed to: kerri@assoc.services for posting.
- 9) Dr. Dennis Sommers (North Dakota) will be presented the 2017 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award in September in New Orleans.
- **10)** Reserve the dates of **September 14 17** when MSO will meet in 2017 with the Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists at a combined meeting hosted by the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists in New Orleans. Go to www.swso.org for info when registration opens spring 2017.